SEGA Genesis AV Adapter Revised Review

I got my Genesis for $20 from a woman at my Church. The RF Unit was great , but
I was getting tired of it fading to static and looking fuzzy. To solve this , I
bought the AV Adapter . I must say , it gives PERFECT , SHARP Video and STUNNING
, CLEAR Audio. It’s much easier to plug in and use than the RF Unit , because I
had to set mine to Channel 4 since the Game was extra-fuzzy on Channel 3 (TV is
on that Channel , so there was interference) and you have to use the remote to
get to that Channel (it won’t let you do it from the TV , which I would like to
do when I go to turn on the Genesis). With this I could just change it to the AV
Channel and turn on the Genesis.

By now you’re probably wondering what
the problem is with this product. Well , here it is. When you use the AV Adapter
on a Model 2 Genesis (Can’t speak for anything else , as I don’t own a Model 3 ,
Nomad , or 32X) and you play ANY Sonic Game (excluding Spinball and Mean Bean
Machine ; there are no Rings in the latter) you have a big problem with the
Rings Sounds and BGM. When you get one Ring : nice , great sounding , “GLING”.
Next time , very faint , almost impossible to hear when running through multiple
Rings , “gling” , just like with the Emulated Compilations made for Modern
Systems. Also most of the Music in STH3 and S&K sounds off. Very , VERY
annoying . I also found that the Sub-Boss Music was missing the main part of the
BGM in Sonic 3 and Knuckles! Plus the Final Boss BGM in Sonic 2 was “Drowned
out” by the Death EGG Robot stomping. That pushed me off the edge , to the point
that I wanted to return the Product. But , before I did that , I did some
experimenting . I put the red wire in the white hole and that fixed the STH2
Final Boss Music and the S3K Sub-Boss Music , but then the Doomsday Zone Boss
was missing part of the BGM. So that meant I had to switch the cables around
when a different BGM plays. Very troublesome.

After a few days using this
, I switched back to the RF Unit. I plugged it in a fidgeted with it and got the
Picture quality looking much better. This cable has way too many Sound problems
, and no amount of crystal clear Picture can make up for that. The idea is good
, but it doesn’t work. If I try again , I will get the one made by Retro-Bit ,
as they seem more quality. This is what mine was like , and it MAY just be this
cable , but I’m not sure. If you can think of a way to fix any of these problems
, please tell me in the comment section below. GOD BLESS!

About tobymacboy

I am a 14 year old Christian and a Classic Games lover. I collect LEGOs and Sonic / Star Wars / Pac-Man video games and merchandise. My favorite games are all the classic Sonic and Pac-Man games.

Posted on 2013/07/12, in Blast from the Past, Dr. Robotnik/Eggman, Reviews, SEGA Genesis or Game Gear, Sonic the Hedgehog, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

