SEGA and Nintendo Enter Exclusive Partnership for Sonic the Hedgehog

I was checking my Facebook today when I noticed some amazing news! SEGA and Nintendo are combining to make more Sonic games! The SEGA blog states:

SEGA® of America Inc. and SEGA® Europe Ltd. today announced details of an exclusive partnership with Nintendo of America Inc. and Nintendo of Europe GmbH for the Sonic the Hedgehog franchise. The new agreement will make Nintendo consoles the number one destination for Sonic gaming over the next three titles.  The first two titles of the deal were announced today via Nintendo Direct, and details of the third Sonic title will be revealed at a later date.

“Sonic the Hedgehog has performed incredibly well on Nintendo platforms and this exclusive partnership is a natural fit for the next evolution of Sonic games” commented Jurgen Post COO SEGA Europe Ltd.  “The Wii U and Nintendo 3DS are ideal platforms to showcase Sonic and we are looking forward to working with Nintendo on these three exciting adventures.”

Sonic the Hedgehog first appeared as a videogame character in June 1991 and instantly became an icon for a generation of gamers.  Defined by his super-fast speed and cool attitude, in the years since he first raced on to videogame consoles Sonic has become a true global phenomenon with over 75 million videogames and smartphone apps sold worldwide. SEGA’s iconic blue blur has also gone on to enjoy incredible success in many licensed areas, such as toys, apparel, comics and animation.

AMAZING! I am excited to see what the third will be ! I do know that they will be making Sonic Lost World and Mario & Sonic at the Sochi Olympic Winter Games. Here is a picture of Sonic Lost World:
971239_10151585743017418_2040053311_n
I seriously hope that these aren’t just for WII U and 3DS , as I own neither. I do hope that they release it for XBox 360 and Wii , though.
I wonder how good these will be? Please comment , GOD BLESS!

About tobymacboy

I am a 14 year old Christian and a Classic Games lover. I collect LEGOs and Sonic / Star Wars / Pac-Man video games and merchandise. My favorite games are all the classic Sonic and Pac-Man games.

Posted on 2013/05/17, in Sonic the Hedgehog. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. This is exciting news. You must be really happy about this.

  2. I am! As a Nerd , I love SEGA and Nintendo. And I never though they would join after their epic war during the 16-bit era.

  3. Has Alejandra301 commented on CR before?

    • No , Alejandra301 has not. Why do you ask?

      • She asked me if I go on any other WP sites besides Brick Archives and a secret site we chat on and I told her the only other is Classics Rising, and I told her she should go here and comment. She said she thinks CR is cool.

      • Hmm. Maybe she’ll speak up soon! New commenters are always a good thing!

  4. Sorry to break it to you, but you won’t see the on Xbox 360 or Wii because Nintendo competes against Xbox 360 and they pretty stopped making Wii games.

  5. Want to Y mail chat?

Leave a Reply

